RSS

Hola, que tal?

12 Jan

Lesson #3 Don’t try to translate directly.

I tried to find out why tal means up.  This is what I found out.  1)Tal adj: such, just, a helper word; 2)Talla F: height, stature, size; 3)Tallar VT: to deal; 4) It doesn’t matter, ‘que tal’ means ‘what’s up’ just like ‘what’s up’ means ‘what is happening in your life’.  Note to self – stop trying to find the literal translation and just learn the phrase.

Ok, so I’m on page 8 of the Set, page 29 of Spanish for Dummies, and page 8 of Arriba, my Span101 book.  I can now confidently say : Buenos dias senorita, ?como estas? Muy bien, gracias.  Dispenseme, ?como te llamas?  Which means, Good morning miss, how are you? I’m doing great, thank you.  Excuse me but, what is your name?  Yeah 🙂

So my question of the day?  What correlation is there between the animal llama and the word llama that means ‘name’?  Are they named name because no one could think of anything else?  It’s like the town of Socorro here in NM.  Why did someone name the town help?  Again, I’m being too literal.  I can’t help it.  I’m trying to learn why these sounds have this meaning.

I am about to begin conjugation.  I remember this being one of the easier aspects until the irregular verbs come into play.   And as I recall the focus of my bilingual study project saying, “I remember the irregular verbs, they gave me trouble”.

Never the less, I am excited to begin! Ole!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 12/01/2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
For the Love of ELA

The insane life of secondary teaching.

HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

