RSS

No hay de que

15 Jan

Funny how the first things we’re supposed to learn are the niceties. Don’t give it a thought, what a nice thing to say.

I remember the first time I saw A Walk In The Clouds, I know what you’re thinking Keeanu Reeves can’t get past being Ted, but I still liked the movie, a lot.

My favorite scene is the serenade. I’m going to find that song somewhere and learn it! I have been to several Hispanic weddings and other get-togethers, and maybe I was being racist, I’m not sure. But I really thought that someone would know that song, no one has. Not yet. If you know the song I’m talking about and you know the words, will you tell me, por favor?

I have now begun “drills on pronunciation” This is the part where I have cero idea what I am learning to say, but I repeat it over and over again so that I can say it correctly once I learn what it means and have a reason to say it.

It’s not so bad, derecha, derecho. pase, paso, palon, pelon. I can do this, I have my mouth in this half twist with my best chihuahua attitude in full regalia.

Things I have learned:
Soy mujer, I am a woman. It would be difficult totell otherwise, but I suppose it is good to know if I am talking on the telefono.

Ser the verb for permanency. tu ser o no tu no ser…. ok that was really just a guess, using the little bit of how to make a negative. This is one of those irregular verbs that I am going to have to learn:
yo soy
tu eres
el, ella, ello, uno, usted es
nosotros somos
vosotros sois
ellos, ellas, ustededs son

I think I’ll be ok with the s words but the eres and es are going to be trickier I think they sound a lot like some other words I am trying to learn.

Am I a senora or do I get to go back to being  a senorita??  I think it might have less to do with marriage than having kiddittos….that’s my guess.

My amiga is sending me Rosetta Stone, the very thing I thought the Set was supposed to be like.  YEAH!!!!!

Hasta luego mis amigos!!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 15/01/2010 in Learning Spanish

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
For the Love of ELA

The insane life of secondary teaching.

HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

