RSS

HOla holA pEso pesO Esta estA

28 Jan

Why can I not say derecho in a sentence?  I can say it by itself but as soon as I try to put it in a sentence I get all tongue tied.   Ahi a la derecha.  It comes out sounding like aha! a LA de wretched.  I’ve got el bano down,  though…. I think I learned it differently from Encino Man.

And Embajada Americana…am I supposed to blend the ending a with the beginning a?  I can’t tell from the guy saying it on the CD…

I found a new favorite phrase, again, the niceties are my fav’s; El gusto es mio.  It sounds pretty and it has such a lovely meeting.  It makes me think of Antonio Banderas and Catherine Zeta Jones in Zorro.

I’ve been working more on my accent placement and noticing the differences in the way Americans pronounce the various sounds and the Spanish way to say them.  I was concerned about the words meaning different things, like in Mandarin, but my daughters’ friend Isabel says “no”.

I gave Isabel a ride home from school yesterday.  With my Spanish pronunciation CD playing, we drove home.  There were a couple of tracks that even she said, “wow I can’t even say it that fast”!  Which made me feel a little bit better about not really being able to ‘hear’ what they were saying as well as I want to.  I didn’t dare actually try to “repeat in the pauses provided” because I had an actual Spanish speaker in the car with me.

I’m not ready for that kind of pressure yet.

The track changed to something toward the beginning of the CD and I was able to keep up, in my mind.  Then it switched back to track 43 and once again I was plunged into sentence drills…  I’m not sure if this listening in my car is really the best method, however it is the only method I have right now.

Isabel starts laughing in the back as I say, with my best evil voice, “I will learn this language, I will!”  Then, when I come to a red light she says to me something in Spanish.  I said to the rearview mirror, “Was one of those words red?”  I got the appropriate giggle along with a yes.  I smiled, Yeah I got one!!!

As I drop her off, she says “gracias” to which I appropriately respond “De Nada”

well I’ve got that down anyway….

 
1 Comment

Posted by on 28/01/2010 in Learning Spanish

 

One response to “HOla holA pEso pesO Esta estA

  1. Tahirih

    28/01/2010 at 20:35

    Muy bien Mari!

    You will learn. It would help if you listen to other native speakers. Every country has a different accent and cadence to their speech, just like English. Try renting some Almodovar movies. They are made in Spain and that is a whole other language…the movies are also pretty steamy! Que los disfrutes 😉

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
For the Love of ELA

The insane life of secondary teaching.

HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

