RSS

New Direction

04 Aug

I thought that I would be able to keep up with writing this blog while I got through everything else this summer.  We take the daughter to college tomorrow, dang I feel old.  But it winds down the whirlwind end of school/ summer that has made these last few months chaotic.

New challenge.  Just write on here.  If it’s about my Spanish dyslexia or my crazy life trying to raise teenagers while attending college full time, and dealing with a neck injury that causes insane migraines, all at the same time, then whatever comes out comes out.  But the goal is to write.  Period.

I just cut 8 inches off my hair.  I cried for only a minute and reminded myself that hair is stupid to be so attached to.  However the length just went from hip to shoulder.  I had it layered and thinned out.  The lack of weight almost immediately helped my neck and head.  Amazing.  I have to admit I’m a little angry that it worked, because now I know that until my neck is healed, I can’t even try to grow it back out again.  BUT it is worth it for the pain factor.

I’m writing up a one page resume to be a companion to my 3 page resume and a generic cover letter that I can tweak as needed.  APS has a hiring freeze except for bilingual teachers and we know that my Spanish has only just begun.  I am nowhere near bilingual yet.   So, I’m applying for a tutoring position at the community college.  Something is better than nothing.

And so for my first rant I will address the city of Albuquerque.

How on earth can you decide that spending the money to  put up rotating colored lights to light up the overpasses can possibly outweigh the need to spend money on improving the quality of education in this city???? I drive by a bridge that turns from blue to green to yellow and realize that every public school in Albuquerque is under-staffed, under-equipped,  under-trained, and under-educated yet our bridges are over-colored.  Is it our education system that churned out such geniuses?!? Good f’ing job guys.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on 04/08/2010 in Rant

 

Tags: ,

One response to “New Direction

Leave a Reply

 
HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

