RSS

Buenos Dias mis amigos

26 Apr

I finished my Spanish 101 and 102 quest with a B- in both.  It was scary terrifying and I learned some things about myself.

One, I have a hard time learning something that new when it’s for a grade.  I plan to continue learning Spanish, but not in a classroom.

Along with that, I have a deeper and more profound sense of the harm we are doing to any child with a 1st language that is not English, be it , Spanish, Chinese, French, Russian, etc, by making them sit in classrooms and try to learn science when they don’t understand the language they are hearing it in.  By experience, I can tell you that as soon as you lose the understanding of one word, you can’t keep up with the rest.  We need to fix this broken ideology.

I will continue my quest and I will add another dimension.

David has been dealing with Juvenile Arthritis since about 6 years old.  He is now 15.  It is painful physically but also emotionally and mentally.  He is great and lives for the moment, he’s happy and has tons of friends.   My family is creating a team to run a half marathon in January at Disney World.  Please check out our team page  at  http://2012jimdisney.kintera.org/faf/search/searchTeamPart.asp?ievent=466896&team=4166475

It is $100 to join our team and run with us!!!  If you would like to join let me know!!  Otherwise, please donate what you can to raise money for the Juvenile Arthritis Foundation.  THey have done so much for us!

Day 1:  I walked 2 miles today in 45 minutes.  A great start I think 🙂   I have to take this slower what with the neck, shoulder, and hip injuries from 2 years ago that are still only about 2/3 healed.  But a great slow start for sure 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 26/04/2011 in Marathon

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Buenos Dias mis amigos

  1. rheumatoid arthritis symptoms, rheumatoid arthritis treatment

    29/10/2011 at 14:43

    Wow, incredible blog structure! How long have you been running a blog for? you make running a blog look easy. The entire look of your website is great, as neatly as the content!

    Like

     
    • mariflies

      02/05/2012 at 20:04

      Wow, I can’t believe I didn’t see this until now…. Your comment is very nice thank you. I’ve been blogging in different venues for about 3 years. I just write what I think….. generally, right as I think it. School has been hampering with my ability to write consistently but now that I’ve almost graduated, that will change.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
For the Love of ELA

The insane life of secondary teaching.

HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

