RSS

A week in review :The saga of Spanish and marathoning

02 May

Today I finished my two miles in 41 minutes, down from 45 my first and second days.  Small successes are still successes.

My cousin, Lance, just ran the Boston Marathon in slightly over 2 hours.  That’s 26 miles in 120 something minutes.  I am tempted to feel disheartened, but I will not.  He didn’t start out training at that pace and he’s been running since he was a tiny tike.  I know this because when I was a tiny tike (I think we’re the same age) I went to his house and every single one of his family went off running in the morning.  I looked out the window and thought it was a really strange idea to go running  for no reason, before breakfast.   His wife has also been training for marathons and doing fantastically.

And now here I am, getting on my treadmill first thing in the morning, before breakfast, and wishing I had been doing this since I was a tiny tike so it wouldn’t feel like such a long way to go.  I am finding strength in Lance’s victory and using it to push me forward.  I do not plan to run a marathon at super human speed like Lance did.  In fact, I am only training for the Half Marathon because the idea of 26 miles puts me in bed.  But I am willing to push myself for 13 miles for my first time.

I am training for David.  He is going to attempt this with me.  It may be one of the last times he can as his knees, ankles, and arches are in pain all the time.  We’re walking not running, because neither of us can run.  But we’re going to put our all into it.  Mike and Cori and Thane are also thinking about it and hopefully will!

One more day keeping 41 minutes and two miles, then I increase to 2.5 miles 🙂    I am listening to my Rosetta Stone CD’s while hitting the treadmill so that hopefully I can get these two goals accomplished!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 02/05/2011 in Marathon

 

2 responses to “A week in review :The saga of Spanish and marathoning

  1. bearrunner

    02/05/2011 at 15:24

    Lance did it in 120 something? So Lance came top 10 in the Boston Marathon?

    Like

     
    • mariflies

      02/05/2011 at 15:41

      Yep, He finished in the top 2.5% of guys, top 1.5% overall….. I’m pretty proud I have to say 🙂

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
For the Love of ELA

The insane life of secondary teaching.

HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

