RSS

A new Quarter begins, A chapter comes to a close, and Beginning on the Horizon

24 Mar

This is it, the final countdown.  8 weeks, 40 school days, and 22 teaching days left.  What makes only 22 teaching days out of 40 school days?  Testing. Blauchk……  It doesn’t really show anything but they keep doing it anyway.

I’m teaching my next unit using Les Miserables, the movie, text excerpts, and the children’s version of the play.  I would really LOVE anyone’s input on how this story has touched your life, how it changed or didn’t change your life or outlook. What you first thought when you were asked to read the book, or did you choose to read it on your own?  Have you never read it but seen the movie or play?

I’m trying to give the students a broad outlook of why this story is a human classic.

Also, the students have read Sounder and Call Down The Moon.  I’m going to have them draw parallels to those stories, characters, etc.  I’m pretty excited about having them learn about the story of Jean Valjean. It has truly changed my life.  I was able to connect to the characters.  This is one of those books that demand your thought processes in a way that you don’t realize that you are questioning life as you know it until after you do, finding a deeper meaning to morality, justice, stereotype, self-belief, trust, love, and human nature.

I’m at once being faced with finding so much joy in the students I am working with and drill team that I hurt to be leaving, but I am so excited for the future that is rapidly approaching.  I have spoken with the Admissions office of a few Universities that offer a Master’s in Education through online coursework so that I can continue on with my education as I travel the globe educating others.  I’m pretty excited about one prospective University and am in the application processes now.

The school in Prague is paid for now we need to start funding airfare and living expenses for the month.  This school is going to provide skill sets that I don’t believe I could get anywhere else and I know that Thane and I  going together is going to be the spring-board to awesome experiences.  We’re looking at finding a job where David will be able to go to school as well.

The experiences of education are unparalleled.  Not having the education when my older children were small constricted the opportunities I could give them.  The more education I get the more able I am to provide opportunities to my children.  I can’t help but feel a little frustrated that I could not have taken Mike or Cori to live out of country when they were David’s age, but it wasn’t even a possibility then.  They are adults now with their own paths to take.  As I get more education I will have the ability to provide my adult children with opportunities that I can’t yet.  But it all comes down to education.

That’s how I’m feeling today.  I’m off to go see the acupuncturist – dance camp was tough on my poor neck, got keep the healing happening.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 24/03/2012 in teaching

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

