RSS

Trying to raise funds

06 Apr

Hi everyone,

So, I am so close to graduation now!  My Les Mis Unit has begun with a fantastic success!  The drill team I began coaching in February had their first school performance and it was amazing.  They were asked to dance in the National Train Day event here in Albuquerque as well.  I’m so proud of them.  The after-school tutoring program I’ve been working with has its final days next week, so I’m going to finally have a little extra time to finish my portfolio for graduation.

Then, I begin the fund-raising process for creating the book I plan to write during my travels as an international teacher.  Those of you who know me, know the reason I began working towards my endorsement in TESOL and have really pushed myself for my teaching degrees, is because I really want to help create a change in the way we educate; especially our ESL students.  The way we currently teach ESL students, more often than not, inhibits their ability to succeed.  I plan to teach in several countries that have high International testing scores to learn what, how and why their systems are successful.

As I teach and learn, I will be writing a book that analyzes what I am learning about these systems and comparing them to what I’ve learned about how we teach here in America.  Hopefully finding a way to connect these systems in a way that I can instigate some real, positive, and empowering changes in the way we educate ESL students.

Much wonderful and amazing work is and has been done in this field already.  I hope to be able to add to this.

Beginning is always the hardest part.  Being realistic about the process is sobering, but important.

On this note, I plan to begin fundraising through a site called KickStarter.com.  I will be giving photo cards, hand-sculpting and painting several different items, giving free copies of the book, and other prizes for your contributions to my project.

I am attaching photos of Fairie Doors that I have sculpted and painted in the past to give an idea of my work.

Dragon Guarded door

Thanks for reading my blog and for any contributions you may give.  Once I graduate (!) and don’t have 4-5 classes I take on top of classes I teach, I will be able to allot more time for my writing.  I’m pretty excited to spend a summer working on art.

Have a great weekend everyone!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 06/04/2012 in art, being a student, teaching, travel

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Trying to raise funds

  1. bearrunner

    12/04/2012 at 14:13

    That is awesome 🙂
    I think my training is more addictive than anything, as much as I try to avoid it, i always end up doing something…

    Like

     
    • mariflies

      14/04/2012 at 17:35

      I really miss being active! I used to really push myself and you are absolutely right! It’s addicting. Your blog is becoming a little addictive 🙂 It’s a good motivator.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
For the Love of ELA

The insane life of secondary teaching.

HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

