RSS

Teaching Les Miserables

14 Apr

It has to be one of the most rewarding experiences to work through an idea and then watch it unfold even better than you thought!  I am experiencing that right now, and I can’t be happier about it!

It is a lot of work and I’m pretty sure my family thinks I’m nuts, but I am actually getting through to my students and they are absolutely loving it.  I was told at the beginning of this that there was no way I was going to get them to do homework every night, I was making a mistake by not showing the whole movie and for using older versions of the movie.  I was actually laughed at when I said that we were going to have tests every week, and looked at it with dumbfounded exasperation when I said that I had purchased 3 tickets to go see the play when it comes to town in June.

But….  The students, my 8th grade ESL, underpriviliged students are “getting it”.  They are doing the homework, learning words like culpable, formidable, malady, suffrage and renounce, and watching movie versions from 1937 and 1952 in black and white with complete attention.  I have them writing in Dialogue Journals every day and am reading entries that show an incredible depth of understanding.  I knew these kids were awesome, but they are even blowing me away.

I think that this will become a foundational lesson in any classroom I’m in.  I can connect almost anything to it because of its universiality.

SO I’ve been riding the motorcycle again now that the weather is good.  Well, really the weather has been beautiful lately.  I’m still not ready to drive it, but I’m good with riding on the back for the time being.  Besides it’s helping to build up those neck muscles that you don’t realize are there until they are keeping your head from bouncing all over the place with the weight of a helmet. 

Does anyone have a suggestion for a helmet brand/type that isn’t heavy?  I have a full, shielded, 7# helmet right now, and it is a difficult choice between wearing it or not because of the extra strain on my neck vs, the death blow of pavement.  I know, that doesn’t sound like a real choice, but I don’t plan on crashing but I do have to deal with the neck pain each time.  It’s a real choice.

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 14/04/2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
For the Love of ELA

The insane life of secondary teaching.

HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all just...fine.

TIROBON

true stories from Iten

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

