RSS

Today is my last day as a student teacher

18 May

I made sure to use the waterproof mascara, we’ll see how well it works.  The student presentations are today.  I am so excited to see what they’ve done!

I went into this unit with the decision to not lower what I expected of them because of their background, but rather to work with their background to help them see that they are just as capable as anyone else.  I told them I was going to have high expectations, hold them accountable to those expectations, and followed through with my expectations.  It was THEIR choice to live up to the standard or not.  They chose to put in the time, do the work, and the learning.  I’m now back to 56 students on the unit.  Those few that I lost a while back, worked their tails off to get back into the group.  I am so proud of all of my 8th graders!

Today we do the drawing and I find out who is going with me to see Les Miserables at Popejoy Hall in just a few short weeks.  I have to figure out where we are going to eat.  My original plans were good, but (and I am NOT complaining) now that there are 3 students, that makes 4 of us and I have to replan due to budgetary constraints.  It’s all good, they deserve it!  I wish I could take them all!

This has to be one of the hardest parts of teaching, realizing the limitations.  I can’t reach them all, I can’t have every lesson be engaging to every student, I can’t take every child out to dinner, I simply have limitations that I have to work with and hope that within them, I can reach every child possible.

Plans for Prague are starting to swing into full speed.  I will be making my video for kickstarter next week.  I’m lining up the summer schedule and thinking about what I have to take, can’t take, want to but shouldn’t take, so on and so forth.

Ok, enough wasting time, I have to actually go to the last day of being a student teacher.   Dang I’m going to miss them…….

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 18/05/2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
For the Love of ELA

The insane life of secondary teaching.

HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

