RSS

Thank you – the touchy-feelyness of graduation

21 May

My first real weekend in so long.  I worked in the garden, threw away lots of papers, organized my desk, drank a beer in the middle of the day, bought Rubbermaid “easy find lids” containers, and watched a solar eclipse.  I wrote some thank you cards for graduation gifts, made a real dinner, went to the movies, rode the motorcycle, put away my clothes that had been in a basket for over a week now, put together a day/ trundle bed, and ate another piece of cake.

I have to be prepared if I get called in to substitute teach, but I am absolutely in summer mode.  How am I going to convince myself to get a summer job now? Aagh.

I am so lucky to have such good friends and relatives, I am closer to my goal for necessary funds for the school in Prague and have new beautiful accessories for while I’m there.  Most importantly I have their support and care – that knowledge is more important than money or things!!

This blog is dedicated to each and every person that has been part of my life.  Good or bad I have learned so many things along this path.  There are parts of where I’m at now, that I always knew would happen.  I knew I would travel across the planet, I just didn’t know for sure how.  In September that dream will begin being fulfilled.  I knew that I would be a teacher, I just didn’t know I’d be a real teacher.  I thought I’d teach people the things I’ve been learning, but now… now I’m a real honest to goodness teacher.  It was the people in my life that have helped me take the path – the direction that I have been on to get where I am and to go where I’m going.

I made friends along the way that have influenced me long past the time that I’ve been able to hang out with them in person: Tahirih and Brett, Jennifer T, Jennifer E, Dawn K.  And new friends that I am so glad for.  I hope that I give them as much as they’ve given me.  It’s been a long road.  Too much of it painful, but because of friends, I’ve made it.

I can honestly say that I now have teachers that have made a difference in my education.  It may have taken until college to be able to say that, but now I can say it with full meaning:  Lois M., G. Martinez, Kent B., Mel S., both Szasz’s, Alice W., these are incredible teachers, incredible human beings.  I feel lucky to have been taught by them.

I know, I know… this is the touchy-feely blog, but I needed to put it out there into the universe that I am grateful.  Grateful for the path I’m on and for the people that supported me along the way.

My promise is that I will do my best to support those around me, to encourage and uplift, to learn from and teach.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
For the Love of ELA

The insane life of secondary teaching.

HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

