RSS

Smorgasboard

28 May

I have in front of me a bagel, apple slices, banana chunks, orange juice, and coffee. Foxglove, pansies, bleeding heart, jasmine, clematis and irises.  Hummingbirds, robins, bluejays, and a number of bird species that I don’t know the names of.  All chirping, fragrancing, and generally beautifying my field of vision.

Never in a million years did I think it would be possible to have all this in the middle of a drought ridden desert town.  I was worried about how much water it would take.  We planted everything in the shade of the well-established trees and it only takes about a half hour each morning to keep them all doing well!  Next step is wood chips or something like that to put around them.  That should help the amount of water even more AND make it prettier still!

I have a grip of stuff to work on before I head to the park to paint princesses and flags on every living child.  Ok well, every child is the goal.  There might be a few that for some reason don’t want to have their face painted….. poor saps.

Yesterday, I worked on two paintings and finished one.  It is a blue butterfly on a yellow fading to orange background.  The wings have a reflective element that shows differently as it is viewed in various ways.

Last night was a great time with some of my friends from school.  Thane and I rode the motorcycle which is always awesome.  I know I’m old now though, because I finally got to see the game beer pong get played.  And though it looked fun, I have little interest in getting that drunk that quickly.  I felt the hangover just from watching them all 🙂

David looked over my script for the video and gave it back to me.  “Mom, I need better than this, tell me what makes you stand out, why is your book going to be important, more important than someone else’s, because you are not the only person writing a book out there.  Give me some points you really want me to emphasize.  Have you thought of a location yet?”  Wow.  I still can’t tell if I’m speechless because my well thought out script apparently didn’t get those messages across, or because my 16 year old son said that to me.  He’s growing up and actually becoming a film maker.   He went right into professional mode as if I’d never wiped baby vomit off of his face before.

I blankly took my 3×5 card he offered me back and told him I’d get back to him.

So here I sit with no new script – face painting on my schedule – hummingbirds a foot from my face (must type slowly, quietly) and fragrant coffee right beside me and you on the other side.  It’s a general smorgasbord of goodness and upcoming potential.

I’m off to go start my day 🙂

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
For the Love of ELA

The insane life of secondary teaching.

HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

