RSS

ABQ Folk Festival!

03 Jun

We rode the motorcycle to the Albuquerque Folk Festival yesterday.  More like a musicians fair, it was a blast!  Instrument Workshops, Dance Workshops, Story Telling time. 

I learned a dance that was ridiculous amounts of fun; Bhangra, from the Punjabi region of northern India.  It is a beautiful, graceful, energetic, fun dance of celebration that had me sweating and smiling.   I will definitely be pursuing learning more and incorporating it into my Belly Dance classes.   The instructor of the workshop, Jennifer, had about 35 people doing the dance in about 15 min!  She was great! 

There were three main music tents and a different band in each one, every hour.  So much music!  I was dancing like crazy (until it got too hot).   Holy Water & Whiskey, The Porter Draw, Three String Bale, Saltine Rambler’s, Finn’s Thumb, Up the Holler,  to name just a few of the great bands we saw. 

Only down side, no beer tent L Boo.  But, Three String Bale is playing at Il Vicino tonight.   Too bad I’ll be at work until after it’s over.

Speaking of which, I found my part-time summer job at a little shop in Old Town.  2 days a week, 10 hours a day, minimum wage.  Hey, $7.50 an hour is better than $0.00 an hour.  Big Bucks, I’m on yer trail, so get ready to get got.

Soon I will be able to replace the cord that connects my camera to the computer and I can use pictures J 

I need some ideas of things to do during down time at work (after cleaning etc).  I brought the face paints today, but there is really nowhere to set it up and I have to be able to leave whatever I’m doing at a moment’s notice.  I put them away, there’s no point in using them…. As soon as I think to ask if someone would like to, another customer comes in.

Any ideas? 

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 03/06/2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
For the Love of ELA

The insane life of secondary teaching.

HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

