RSS

4 more days!!!

06 Jun

Is it alright to be so excited I can hardly breathe?  My daughter thinks I’m nuts, and truthfully I probably am, but I am so excited to go see Les Miserables with my students!!! 

I’m still working on a place to go have dinner with them afterward.  It can’t be too far from campus because I don’t have a car and we will need to walk.  I’m undecided….. I can only go so fancy, but no way am I just taking them to Frontier.  NOT that I don’t LOVE Frontier, I do!!  It’s just not what I envision.

I can’t wait to talk with them about the show afterwards!!  I saw each of these students grow because of this story.  I know their stories and why they engaged in it so well.  They are each amazing and I can hardly wait to see what more comes from them. 

I just found out about the plans for the day from the TD Billy, and, well dang, I just can’t believe how awesome this whole thing has become.  Never in a million bazillion years did I think one email asking if there was a tour could bring about all this.

It’s also a little scary, because after this show, who knows when or if I’ll see my students again.  I leave for Prague in September and hopefully by the time I get back, they will have graduated High School. 

That hopeful is on my side by the way.  I hope I am lucky enough to find the opportunities I’m looking for and am teaching out there in the world for at least 4 years.  I have a book to write, a system to change, and my soul to grow.  I need that much time.

 

I received my for sure confirmations from each of the three students today.  Holy moly!  I am excited to see this new production.  I am excited to watch their faces.  I wish there was a way that I could watch them the whole time and not feel like a creeper.  I can’t wait to hear their reactions to seeing the live version of the story we spent so much time on.  I wish there was a way that I could transmit the experience to the other students. 

Truly I wish there was a way to have taken them all, but as those of you who are also teachers know, we wish that wish for everything and it’s just not possible. 

I’m pretty sure I won’t be able to sleep for the next few nights.  So if I’m looking pretty rough the night of the show, well. 

Thanks to everyone that is making this event such an awesome experience!   Terry, Laura, Billy, everyone that I haven’t spoken with personally but has contributed to this.   I can’t believe there’s only 4 more days!!!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 06/06/2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
For the Love of ELA

The insane life of secondary teaching.

HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

