RSS

Grateful for the healing process

18 Jun
Grateful for the healing process

I LOVE being able to do so many more things now.  It’s been a long time coming.

I got up a little later than I had hoped this morning, but I still got to check off a morning salutation from the to-do list.

https://i1.wp.com/25.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_llci10rt6o1qih6j1o1_500.jpg

It feels SO good to be able to do yoga again!   Man I missed it.  It’s been a week of yoga now.   I was terrified to try it again because so many poses, most of them, torques my neck, requires me to support my weight on my arms, or hold my head at various not-good-for-my-neck positions.

My recent round of photos is what gave me the courage to try again.

After doing a side-plank for about 20 seconds and lying on my side for a couple poses,

I fully expected to have a real situation start.  I was willing to deal with it, but wasn’t necessarily looking forward to it.   It didn’t start.  My neck tightened up and I could feel the pulsing behind my eye.  I took half an imitrex and it all went away.   I was amazed, so the next day I tried a DVD that has some really modified movements on it.  I could do most of it!

I have to be careful, there are certain positions I still can’t do.  I am just so glad to be able to get back into a routine that I have sorely missed.   I know I have a long way to go – but it’s closer than it’s ever been.

I was talking with my friend Sheri about the difference between how I handled my mindset on movement right after the fall and how I handle it now.  In some ways I baby the whole affair more now that I’m finally healing than I did when I was first injured.

Why?  Because now I have full understanding of how much pain I will be in and for how long.   We all fall or bang something up.  It hurts.  Sometimes it hurts for a few hours, sometimes a few days.  Occasionally it hurts for a week or so…..   Our minds know that and so we carry on with the pain knowing it will go away soon.

This pain, the pain I experience all day every day, doesn’t go away soon.  It’s been three years.  THREE YEARS.  Before, on my good days I would try to push myself – “You’re not going to get better if you just lay here and hurt.”  Right?    But I would sill hurt ….  I couldn’t work myself enough to get sore, just enough to get a migraine, or twist the stupid muscle that healed wrong, or pinch a nerve, or bulge the disk more…

However, I think in the long run I have healed more completely because I pushed through the pain.  I sometimes worry that the healing process is taking longer because I kept pushing myself but no- I don’t really believe that.  I think I would be in far worse shape than I am now if I had just lain down like everyone said to.

On the other side of that coin, I definitely push too far sometimes.  And THAT is how I became the weenie I am now.

Well, ok more of a weenie than want to be and way more than I used to be, but not a total L7 weenie.

I learned my lesson well that I do not put my body weight on my arms.  Period.  That causes week long migraines that I want no part of.   Don’t lie sideways, that puts my head into angles that my neck cannot support causing week long migraines.  Don’t put my left arm higher than shoulder height.  That makes all the muscles in my shoulder and neck go into uncontrollable spasms that cause week long migraines.  You get the picture.

I’m glad I gave up the spinal injections, though they were necessary at the beginning.  They stopped the spasms enough that I could get through the first rounds of physical therapy.  I’ve written before about how much I LOVE MY ACUPUNCTURIST.  (http://www.healingpointnm.com/)  Without her I would not be where I am today.  She is skillful and easily put and kept me at ease even though I was (am still) afraid of needles.  I am also truly grateful to my Primary Care Doctor for going beyond the norm and giving me the freedom to try this path.  I’ll say it again, I LOVE MY ACUPUNCTURIST.   And I had a WONDERFUL physical therapist as well.  Love her.

I really love healing.

I cannot even explain how grateful I am to have learned Belly Dance way back when.  It is the only thing I’ve been able to do to stay in any kind of shape.   I can still say I have decent muscle tone in most of my body.   And through Belly Dance I’ve been able to slowly work through shoulder and neck issues to the point that I did a modified version of Downward Facing Dog today!  It feels SO good to be able to say that!

Healing – it makes for more and more good days!

Is there anything that you have found that has helped you heal from an injury?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 18/06/2012 in art, dancing, health and healing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Grateful for the healing process

  1. Peri Pakroo

    18/06/2012 at 14:04

    Wow Mari, I have had such a similar experience on and off for more than 10 years now (herniated disc in my neck, exacerbated by yoga unfortunately). It took years to figure out what the triggers were and how to stay active without setting them off. Just like you describe, it’s this crazy balancing act of respecting your limits but pushing forward because as we both know, staying active (but just enough, not too much) is the key to feeling our best. Ditto on acupuncture–love it but wish it were covered by insurance. :/

    These days I am finally pain-free most of the time. Finally. If I feel tension coming on (and these days I’m better at recognizing the specific kind of feeling of the nerve being irritated) I take a Flexiril right away and it stops the pain/tension from snowballing into an acute episode that can take weeks or months to go away. Stopping the snowballing is key. Hiking and scrambling up rocks (not true rock climbing) have had similar effects in the past–after a good hike suddenly the tension and pain I’d had for weeks just vanished.

    AND (as you mention) DANCING! Back when I was in pain more often, I had a few experiences where after total groove-out dancing my pain was GONE the next day, for weeks and weeks!

    Like

     
  2. mariflies

    19/06/2012 at 12:40

    Peri, Nanette Hale takes insurances! Click the link in the blog to get to her site, she’s wonderful. Yoga is unfortunately not a great way to work on the kind of injuries we have had. Great for keeping the body from getting injured, but once it’s there, well…. not so good. It’s nice to be able to do it again, even if none of the poses are done without modification.
    We need to talk about business-y stuff! Like SOON.

    Like

     
  3. Our Life In 3D

    27/06/2012 at 06:35

    Running….in high school football if we ever got dinged up he made is run. It didn’t have to be hard or fast…just run. I just think the increase in blood flow carried more nutrients through our system giving our body what it needed to heal. Excercising and staying fit help to be a proactive method to injuries I think. You look in great shape with abs of a 20yr old! You’ll be tops in your yoga in no time. ~ liked the intor to ‘Sandlot’ and the L7 weenies. Great movie! Keep up your great work!

    Like

     
  4. kavin

    30/11/2012 at 17:19

    can say anything wrong about this post. completely informative keep in touch with writing.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

