RSS

Challenge Whammy Accepted

24 Jun

Image

In a recent conversation I put two and two together and realized that I really just need to figure out what comes between two and four.  To be more precise, I know lots of words in Spanish now.  I know my conjugations and when listening to conversations in Spanish I can get the general idea of what is being said.  My downfall is speaking.  I can get the accent and pronunciation pretty well.  But I realized I don’t know how to put all the individual words and conjugations together into a complete coherent sentence.  That makes me feel stupid frankly.  How do I have 2 semesters of Spanish and my (on again off again) Rosetta Stone for the last 2 years and still not be able to put a sentence together?

Several things, 1) lack of confidence in speaking a new language, 2) lack of practice speaking -possibly exacerbated by number 1, and 3) lack of dedication – definitely a result of 1 and 2.

I MUST change this situation as my helping children to learn English is going to be my job from now on.  And as part of my ongoing research into learning a new language, I realize I can’t really learn it if I don’t really use it.

CHALLENGE ACCEPTED

My friend Bryson said to learn Czech…..  Challenge accepted, I will learn each phrase in both languages and do my best to use them at work.

I started this morning using my local library’s free online language course.  It’s interesting.  Not as fun as my Rosetta Stone but it’s still pretty fun learning.

Image

I have my first weirdness about the Czech Republic now.  The Spanish beginning “hello” phrases are things like, “It’s nice to meet you” and “Where is the restaurant?”.   The Czech “hello” phrases are, “I need help” and “There’s been an accident”.  What does this tell me about the most important phrases to learn first??

I have mentioned before that I LOVE the word hello in Czech!  Ahoj and the “oj” sounds like “oi”, yes sir, hello is Ahoy.  The pirate in me can’t help but love that.

So, I will learn a full useful phrase in Spanish and it’s duplicate in Czech and find ways to use them.

Question, Is it cheating to make my two phrases a day- one in Spanish and one in Czech?  Or should I stick with the original 2 phrases in Spanish and just add in Czech?        Why do the little steps trip me up?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on 24/06/2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Challenge Whammy Accepted

  1. DinoLingo.com

    10/07/2012 at 09:03

    Such a fun and creative way to fully learn a language! Great post! (http://blog.dinolingo.com)

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
For the Love of ELA

The insane life of secondary teaching.

HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

