RSS

The poop about running.

16 Jul

I now have a much better understanding of the “multiple health benefits” of running.  I’ve been running most mornings for the last week.  This is week 2, and I had my best run yet today.  Why, you ask, am I trying this running stuff again?  Do I not recall the disaster of the Arthritis run for David?

Yes, I remember, I remember that because I financially couldn’t afford the end trip I quit trying to make running part of my rehab.  Dang that’s sat in my head as a sore spot.  So, when I heard about a 5k coming up called The Color Run, I decided I have to do it.

It’s happening the last weekend before I leave for Prague, it raises money for the Ronald McDonald House, and I can finally check off having run in an event like this.   Kinda excited, not gonna lie.

So, Cori and I have been running through the neighborhoods and I have been able to increase how much I run vs walk each day.  Doing a 10 min forward standing bend afterward seems to be helping keep my neck in decent working order.   Let’s it decompress.   I have to make sure and do my strength exercises I got from my PT right after that though, because otherwise it seems to loosen my neck too much.  It’s all about finding balance.

We have a local park just a few blocks from the house, so today I ran to the park and all the way around it.  Then I walked around it, then I ran around it again and walked around it again.  I was so happy after the second time of running all the way around that I hardly remember the last walk around.

I feel like I might have been able to go around 2 more times, except for 2 things.

1)      I really don’t want to push myself too far.  Push, yes, too far, no.  And

2)      At about the 1.5 mile mark, I have to poo.

This has been true each time I have gone running.  Ok, so regularity is a health benefit.  It’s a good thing.  But how am I supposed to plan on running further than a few blocks from my house if I know that at a certain point, the poo is on its way?

I know we’re not supposed to talk about these things.  Pleasant company and all that, but in thinking about this I realized that a 5k is more than 1.5 miles and the whole race is a fair distance from my home.

Is it something I need to figure out how to work around or is it my body getting used to being jostled around in this way? Does this go away?  Obviously the need to poo doesn’t go away, but the need to at a specific point as I’m running, does that go away?

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “The poop about running.

  1. Alicia

    16/07/2012 at 10:12

    Mari, this post made me laugh! When I used to run XC I just made myself go potty before I ran (not in a forceful way) and eventually your body gets used to needing to go before the run if you run at the same time every day.

    Like

     
    • mariflies

      17/07/2012 at 07:29

      That’s a good idea. I had been skipping my morning coffee to go run on an empty tummy, maybe I should take an extra half hour after waking up before hitting the streets. Who knows, I might quit getting so many weird looks if I actually brush my hair first.

      Like

       
  2. Andy ~ Our Life In 3D

    17/07/2012 at 04:38

    Too funny and I know what you mean. I’ve been there! How can you concentrate with that? Following up on Alicia’s comment try to work in a a diet or meal that would help promote the pre run pooing. If you can you’ll run better, more confident and ‘lighter’. Good luck!

    Like

     
    • mariflies

      17/07/2012 at 07:31

      Even more health benefits are showing up for this running stuff. Eat food that promotes a healthy early morning poo, that has to be good for lots of reasons! I like the idea of running lighter for sure. Thanks!

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
For the Love of ELA

The insane life of secondary teaching.

HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

