RSS

2 weeks and 2 days in

19 Sep

You know that saying

A picture is worth a thousand words.

If you think of a moment in time as a picture, it’s amazing how much that moment can say.

For example.

I was walking across the street, to the hurried clicking of the crosswalk timer, as a bus was making it’s own hurried way toward the intersection.  I happened to glance up and see the bus drivers face as I hastily stepped my back foot onto the sidewalk at the precise moment when both the light turned green and the bus went through the intersection.  One look.  One moment.  One very clear message.

“I knew the light was going to be green when I arrived at it.  I have a schedule to keep.  I run a tight schedule.  I’m not going to slow down because you didn’t get to the cross walk in time.  I don’t care if I run you over, you’re obviously a foreigner and you should have travel insurance.  If you don’t, that’s your own damn fault.  You can’t hurt my bus, and I don’t care if I flatten you.  Good-bye.”

Note to self:  Always walk across the street at a brisk pace.

Things I was not expecting about the Czech Republic?

  • Sit down showers with no shower curtain.
  • Beds that are only 5’5” long.
  • Comforters that are only 4’5” long.
  • Every door is key-locked both to get into and to get out of.
  • No such thing as a clothes dryer.

 

  • Buying dried herbs in single use pouches.
  • Buying baking soda in single use pouches.
  • Women pushing babies in strollers, people carrying their groceries,  dogs, all going down the metro escalator at a mere 30 degree incline, up to 8000 m long, and some of the fastest in Europe.
  • A (for real) lack of public smiling.

Seriously the children don’t even smile when walking around.  I am sure that somewhere the smile exists in Czech Republic, but I have yet to see one that is not attached to a non-native.  I refuse to have the smile taken out of me, but I’m getting way better at walking down the street with a “I’ma F you up” look.  Amazingly I am not even noticed if I walk around like that, but the minute I crack a slight version of what might be considered a smile, everyone has an opinion.  It’s usually not a good one.

More things I was not expecting about the Czech Republic

  • Flowers on every corner stand.

 

  • Every building boasts sculpture, color, art, and architectural beauty.
  • A remarkable public transportation system!

The buses, trams, and metros will take you anywhere in the city in no time and it’s inexpensive to boot!

  • The food is really good, and really real.  No preservatives and corn sugar.
  • I am NOT afraid of Czech dogs.  They are incredibly well trained here.
  • The people are incredibly friendly once I got past the generic exterior.  I was always helped with generosity and kindness.
  • All the souvenir places sell basically the same stuff everywhere in the city.  I don’t feel so bad about Old Town Albuquerque anymore.
  • Dance clubs here are an interesting experience.  I think I’ll try it again.
  • The amazing beauty of the landscape, buildings, river, and women. (sorry, the Czech guys cannot boast the same intense beauty the women can, wish it were so, sigh)  It’s just a beautiful city.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

TEACHING

It’s a whole new world.  I feel that I am only improving.  I wish we had been taught this method at UNM.  I remember being taught the theories of what I am learning how to do.  And DAMN why aren’t we taught grammar??  We do not teach Language in Language Arts.   I am even more convinced than I was before that there not only has to be a better way, there actually is.  I’m not sure that what I am learning is the best, but I have learned so much more in the last week and a half than I did in the  last 2 semesters of college.  This is not because I don’t think that what I am learning isn’t fantastic,  I just haven’t learned enough different ways to say that this is the best….  who knows?  Maybe it is.

This is who I am

I am doing my best to believe and trust in whatever God type being is out there.  I am trusting.  It is not turning out the way I had envisioned, but it is turning out well.   This is the scariest moment I’ve had so far, the moment when I realize that I am about to make this absolutely real.  Not just a vacation, a learning vacation, but 100% real.  Maybe it’s the part of me that loves roller coasters so much, but I feel this fear and just get excited.  I am in the process of being.

Now, I just need to find some solitude so that I can dance, just for me.  I need to feel the energy and recharge.  I’ve been practicing Kundalini yoga in the mornings but I can’t put on any music to dance with.  I miss it.

Back to amazing amounts of homework…… not unlike the last 4 years of my life, but somehow very different.

 

Tags: ,

One response to “2 weeks and 2 days in

Leave a Reply

 
For the Love of ELA

The insane life of secondary teaching.

HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

