RSS

Hurtling through space

09 Oct

So here I sit, asking myself what a good word for this flying business is.  Immediately, I find myself mentioning to myself that I am doing the word right now, in the present.  It is something that I began doing at a time in the past; it has duration of time that includes the current moment and will continue into a definite time in the future.  Therefore, I must use the Present Perfect Continuous form in order to say what it is that I am doing.  It’s a word that is more complete than just flying because the amount of tossing about that is happening to everything insists on it.  It’s a word in English that has a certain cavalier-ness with the speed.  A word that includes the audacity that we can fly this many people, all our stuff, a decent meal, a lot of alcohol, continuously toss about, and watch movies at the same time.

And so I will say that – I have been writing as I have been hurtling through space.

I am on my way back to New Mexico for a short while.  I am headed to China after that.  The Chinese Embassy is located in LA and I have to get all my paperwork there for my Visa.  I could mail it and wait for it to get mailed back….. or?…….. (Hint* anyone in LA that can put me up for a few days?)

One year in China.  I am excited and scared for this new opportunity.  I am trying to absorb the reality that this is all really happening.  I’ve worked so hard for all of this to start coming together and actually happen.

It seems today that all the world is covered in clouds.  Each time I open the little window, all I see is cloud cover, no ground.  The little computer screen in front of me tells me that we’re over Nova Scotia right now.  I’ve been flying since “noon” and it’s now around “4:30”.  Only 4 and a half more hours to go…….  I quote my times because it’s all relative to location and well, plane location is in constant flux.

I feel regretful that I was so unable to communicate with friends and family while taking this course, but please be understanding with me.  It was actually a tough month.  That was Not a learning vacation in any sense.  When they say it is challenging and intense, they are not kidding.

Good, worth it, but also challenging and intense.  Truly, learn your grammar before arriving.  The staff is incredibly helpful and there for the students.  That made so much bearable.  The accommodations were one way to get to really be part of Czech life.  96 stairs 3-7 times a day, how will I ever stay in shape without stairs?

 

One response to “Hurtling through space

  1. mariflies

    22/10/2012 at 08:50

    Update on the travel plans, I have decided that going to Taiwan and having the support of my former exchange-student “son” and his family, will be more beneficial to the success of my first year teaching abroad. And so – I leave for Taiwan on the 29th of October – arriving on Halloween. No specific job at this posting time, but I hope to report a change in that status soon.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
For the Love of ELA

The insane life of secondary teaching.

HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

