RSS

I am on my way – a most random thought

29 Oct
I am on my way   – a most random thought
English: Taoyuan International Airport art dis...

English: Taoyuan International Airport art display 中文: 桃園國際機場藝術展 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Though the wifi at LAX is free, apparently you only get to be on for about 5 minutes at a time and then have to login again.   So I haven’t checked what I last wrote, and have no idea where I left off.  Therefore, I will write this in word while I wait (alliteration) and I’ll start where I am.

I’m sitting in LAX, having just flown from Albuquerque and headed towards Taoyuan International Airport in Taiwan.  I have two of the largest suitcases I have ever seen, 1 raspberry princess pink and 1 bright smurf blue (yes, I can spot my luggage on the carousel) plus my traveling backpack and my computer case.  I am moving to Taiwan for an undetermined amount of time.  I am bringing stuff.

With the newly discovered knowledge of traveling and sleeping abroad (not around), I decided (without hesitation) that my body-sized Tempurpedic pillow would be accompanying me in my travels.

*instant realization – I totally forgot about my super snazzy orange foldable baking pan….. damn.  I will need that shipped to me.*

1 suitcase is almost entirely devoted to my pillow.  I am comfortable with that decision and make no apologies.  That suitcase is my ‘make my house my home’ suitcase.  A few of the things I wanted to have to decorate or use that will help me to overcome homesickness as it hits me.

I am excited to be going to yet another country in which color is worn with exuberance.  I have come to appreciate the ability to just throw on random uncoordinated bright colors.   All this time that I have spent trying to figure out (rather unsuccessfully if you ask my daughter) how to coordinate clothing, colors, and styles so as not to look like a freak of nature, can be put by the wayside as I embrace the color overload movement.  Maybe.
I’m going to need to take a Chinese painting class along with my Mandarin learning.  I’m so ready for this.  I was asked today why I didn’t seem giddy.  I explained that I have a better understanding of all the newness I’m about to face which is tempering my absolute giddiness.  I’m calm because I know I’m doing the right thing.   I’ve been a bit of a mess the last few weeks while trying to get to this point.  Now, what I feel is calm, peace that I am on the right path.

The flight to LAX was spent in conversation with the gentleman next to me and the woman in the seat in front of us.  I learned about capsulized veggies and fruits, transportation needs for the Schneider company, gratitude for the treasure of human kindness, and was able to happily pass a 2 hour flight in no time at all.  I love getting to meet new people and learning about them.  I love sharing about my students from Washington and all of their amazing-ness.  It makes me excited for the students I will have soon.

I spent $5 for a luggage cart that I could only take from the baggage claim to the sidewalk in front of the bus stop – aprox. 16 ft from the baggage claim.  Seriously, who thought of that??  That was genius.  That’s like $1 for every three feet.  They get enough suckers like me to fund something important I’m sure.  Maybe they’re fundraising for actual leg room on the planes?!  I will support that.

Hopefully I can get online long enough to post this.  Let’s cross our fingers.

Yeah, looks like I did, but the pictures are taking too long right now, soon.  I should be turning on my language program and trying to work on my Mandarin, but instead I am writing to all of you.  Or, avoiding all the people around me that actually speak Mandarin.  I will wait until I am quietly somewhere no one can hear me.

Of course that’s not what I was taught at TEFL Worldwide was it?  I was taught I need to speak, speak, speak when learning a new language.  I should be a good teacher to myself and help me find ways to speak with native speakers in conversation.  I know this, but still I want to hide until I know more.  Well, I won’t be able to hide after my 14.5 hour flight now will I?  no.

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “I am on my way – a most random thought

  1. ann

    29/10/2012 at 13:44

    Happy travels in Taiwan Mari. I have a cousin who is working Chengdu if you end up traveling inland let me know and I can put you in touch if you need a US network. YOur new adventure Sounds so exciting. Can’t wait to read more and see photos! Be safe and enjoy!

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
For the Love of ELA

The insane life of secondary teaching.

HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

