RSS

Dr. Seuss is my hero

30 Nov
Ted Geisel (Dr. Seuss) half-length portrait, s...

Ted Geisel (Dr. Seuss) half-length portrait, seated at desk covered with his books / World Telegram & Sun photo by Al Ravenna. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

In all seriousness, Dr. Seuss has made my life a good place.

Whenever I need something, there are more words of wisdom from a man who simply wrote down the sensible information in the most sensational way.

Ff Ff  Four fluffy feathers on a Fiffer-feffer-feff =  How I teach the alphabet little  ELL’s….  Maybe a good idea, maybe not.  We’ll see!

I am starting to see progress on the full sentence front and there is a definite drop in the coughing in my face and an unexpected but totally pleasant increase in the “I love you”‘s I’m hearing from my students 🙂  That makes my day!

Every morning the kids have to sing and do these silly dances to about 5 songs.  The 5 songs are picked from a pool of 8 songs I think, but hey, repetition makes the mind work….. or something like that.

I don’t know I’ll have to check again.

The silly little dears LOVE the “Rain rain go away, come again another day” song and keep singing it in class.

So I taught it to them in sign language muahahahahaha.   If they’re going to sing a song instead of listen to phonics, they need to learn something from it.  I’ll show them, (evil chuckle) every thing they do must be a learning experience (wrings hands and flashes disturbing smile).

They’re lucky my kidittos aren’t here to tell them just how serious I am about that plan!

workin the books

workin the books

Here I am in a place where “the streets are not marked and some windows are lighted but mostly they’re darked”.

I’m still not doing much exploring.  I’ve learned any more Chinese, though I do listen during the Chinese lesson the kids get.  I am working through the shell shock that comes from being entirely consumed by a new everything.

Well, I say I’m working through it, but really I’m hiding from it by staying in my dorm room.  My first, second and third dorm rooms.

My first apartment turned into a leaky pool once the first big rain hit.  So I moved across the hall and didn’t have hot water for the 5 days I was in there.  Now, I moved again and everything works….. fingers crossed.

Cleaning apartments between tenants is not customary here and so I have had to clean 3 apartments in 3 weeks.  Fun fun.  I’m getting faster at it though, this time it only took me 3 hours.

muddy walls, yeah!

muddy walls, yeah!

If things start happening, don’t worry, don’t stew, just go right along and you’ll start happening too.

I am trying to stay occupied with lesson planning, but mostly I just surf the net for a few hours a night.   I bite what can I say?    The happening is starting to happen though, I can tell.

no, REALLY.

2012-11-24 17.44.05

Let’s having some fun!

2012-11-24 18.03.08

Dinner after bowling was delicious and fun!

2012-11-24 18.07.32

Beef Rolls

2012-11-24 22.29.37

Picking the first songs!!

2012-11-24 22.30.01

Waiting for everything to load

2012-11-24 22.30.18

Crazy night of birthday drinking and karaoke

2012-11-24 22.45.12

A sweet serenade :.)

2012-11-24 22.45.39

No stage? The table will do!

2012-11-24 22.56.25

The Birthday Boy gets his song on!

I did have a fun night on the town with a good group of my coworkers last weekend.  I’ve got pictures to prove it too.  Hahaha.   2012-11-24 22.46.41 2012-11-24 22.46.56 2012-11-24 22.53.30 2012-11-24 22.53.36

Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.

I work with mostly couples.  There’s a few other single people, happens to be all guys, but also happens to be they are my sons age.  Well, I am here to learn and teach, so that is what I am focusing on, but it does get a little lonely when there isn’t even anyone to just hang out with that isn’t coupled up.

hmphf

I was supposed to be here with someone else, I guess it is a weird thing to be this single in such a far away place.

You can get help from teachers, but you are going to have to learn a lot by yourself, sitting alone in a room.

See, I told you, Dr. Seuss knows everything.
Think left and think right and think low and think high. Oh, the thinks you can think up if only you try!
Plan for next month
– think up some crazy stuff to do with no money; then go do it.
-think up, look up, plan out, and detail the things I want to do once I start getting real paychecks!
If you never did you should. These things are fun and fun is good.
I leave you with one of the most profound of all of the late Dr. Seuss’s quotes.  One that millions have pondered and scratched their heads over.
When beetles fight these battles in a bottle with their paddles
and the bottle’s on a poodle and the poodle’s eating noodles…

…they call this a muddle puddle tweetle poodle beetle noodle
bottle paddle battle.
 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
For the Love of ELA

The insane life of secondary teaching.

HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

