RSS

Taiwan fish and food

09 Apr
Taiwan fish and food

So, lucky me got to enjoy another weekend of amazing sight seeing and eating with Tim and fam!  We went to Longtan, Daxi, and Cihu,  in Taoyuan County.  First stop, par usual is EATING!

This cool little restaurant is a fish restaurant, and by fish restaurant I mean you have to go fish your dinner quite literally.

064

We are quite lucky that Tim’s uncle is a good fisherman because he caught a fish big enough to feed 10 people in 7 different ways!062

Most of this was incredibly delicious!   But the fish head soup with pieces of jawbone was a bit much for me.060 058 056

On the other hand the yummy spicy fish chili soup was quite the treat 🙂055

Then there was the soy saucy, salty, spicy goodness of this dish.054

Some cruncy battered and fried fish with a sweet and sour sauce and some white pepper.052

Cannot forget the fish tail that had a citrusy taste with green onions and chilies.  Yep they like it spicy 051 ‘round here.  050

There’s always some kind of greens.  Always.049

Ooooo and this yummy sauce was fantastic over the steamed fish.048

Getting ready for all the dishes to start coming out!  

Just the day before I left for Taipei, I went out to eat with my friend Penny.  She took me to a local beef noodle place.   She ordered the special soup with tendons in it.  I have to admit, that in small doses, the tendon isn’t that bad. 043

The sides: Kim Chi, boiled peanuts, seaweed salad041 040

Last week I went shrimping with some friends from school.  They knew of a local place.  I had NO idea that people go to these shrimp pools to catch live shrimp.   Maybe it’s a Taiwan thing, maybe it’s an Asia thing, but either way it was a New thing for me.   

028

So I get to add another merit badge to my Scooter Driving Merit Badge roll….  Following Paul.  It is a life altering experience and one that makes you question your sanity for having made the decision to keep up.  I survived intact 🙂  so I deserve the badge.

 Everyone sits around catching shrimp, then skewer them through while they’re still alive and then throw them on the barbie until they’re good and done.035

While everyone around me was enjoying their shrimp, I ate lots of delicious noodles that were shrimp free.  I did drink down a Taiwan beer while I was at it though.034 More birthday cakes!!  This one was sent to our class because one of the student’s little sister had a birthday.  It was pretty cute though.  I’m very lucky I can’t eat any of these or I would weigh a million pounds. 013 012

 

It’s been another good food month, now that I can find places to eat and know what will come to the table after I order.  haha

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
For the Love of ELA

The insane life of secondary teaching.

HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

