RSS

It took 2 months to notice it, 6 months to understand it and 10 months to finally do it.

11 Oct

When I first moved here, I was enamored, confused, astonished, and shell shocked. I didn’t really notice all the people sleeping ANYWHERE and EVERYWHERE.

Then one day almost 2 months in, I began to see it, and wow….. Taiwanese people can and will sleep anywhere, anytime, on anything. Their post work “down time” is spent at night markets, family dinners that last for hours, and general socializing into the wee hours of the night/ morning. Then they start all over again at work. Nap time is actually built into their work and school time.

Because it’s necessary.

Building laborers eat lunch, grab a brick, lay down, and are snoring on their brick pillow in 3.6 minutes or less. Teachers are out as cold as their students. Office employees lay their heads on their desk like it’s the comfiest bed around. Couples hold hands and lay their heads on the fast food table between them. Children, toddlers, are standing up, on scooters, with no helmets, with their little unprotected heads resting on their hands, which are gently placed on the dashboard of the vehicle weaving in and out of traffic.

naptime

Now, I not only get it; I do it too. The most looked-forward-to part of my day is nap time. I bring a little towel to fold under my head, and pass the frack out at 12:50 every weekday possible. It’s some of the best sleep I get, given my ridiculous insomnia.

The first time I slept in public was when Cori and David were still here. We’d gone to the night market and got back to the hostel late. We were up early to catch some sun time at the beach before heading out to our next destination and Cori wanted a Mango Shaved Ice.

I couldn’t stay awake. Right there in the middle of the shop, I found an empty table, laid my head down, and was fast asleep before Cori finished her order. I slept the whole time it took for it to be made, eaten, and cleaned up.

Sleep is significantly important….. I need more of it.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “It took 2 months to notice it, 6 months to understand it and 10 months to finally do it.

  1. thebetterwaycfs

    11/10/2013 at 18:48

    When I traveled through Japan I used to take power naps in toilet stalls :p. The nice heated seats were a lifesaver!

    Like

     
    • mariflies

      12/10/2013 at 08:11

      The heated seats are amazing, I’ve only found a few of them here, but I could nap on one!

      Like

       
    • mariflies

      23/10/2013 at 14:09

      wow, thanks! I will figure out how to post the link etc once I get home from work this afternoon.

      Like

       
  2. Our Life In 3D

    06/12/2014 at 16:32

    napping in a public toilet? I would really have to be sleepy! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

