RSS

A full year in Taiwan

02 Jan
A full year in Taiwan

Happy New Year Everyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  

Image

I can hardly believe it’s been a full year in Taiwan!

What an amazing, wonderful roller coaster of a year it’s been.

I’ve traveled most of the country.  I scootered across Taiwan from West to East, through the mountains.  I’ve been to four theme-parks, countless beaches, beautiful mountains, and amazing cities.  I’ve gazed at gorgeous rice fields, palm tree forests, incredible sky scrapers and little huts.  I listened to the melodic sound of the rock beach in Hualien, the monkeys playing in the trees, lots of laughing children, and the wonderful stories of all my new friends.  I have tasted some of the strangest things and some of the greatest things I’ve ever eaten.

I’ve learned to live with,  without,  in spite of,  and during a lot of circumstances I had never expected.

I learned I can do a lot of things I hadn’t thought possible and that some things I just can’t do still.

I began dancing again.  I painted some cool pictures.  I discovered hidden talents, made the most of some known talents, and learned a TON about myself.     I shared travel experiences with two of my children.   I’ve learned a lot about teaching, learning, and school systems.

I’ve gotten pretty good at scootering around.  I’m learning Chinese.

2013 – you were a blast!

Last year I kicked off the New Year at the Taipei 101 bldg, braved the incredible crowds, and rang in 2013 with my Taiwan son, Tim.

That night started a fantastic year for me and I am so excited for what 2014 has to offer!

This year I kicked off the New Year in Hsinchu with so many of the wonderful people I have grown to love AND with one of my favorite people from my time in Prague, Czech Republic!!!

My New Years Resolutions

Resolution Number One

Write.  So much I haven’t written about, so much I haven’t said, so often I didn’t follow through with this blog.  So New Years resolution #1 is to stop caring if what I write has significant meaning, or is too personal, or not personal enough, or has enough pictures, rambles, isn’t funny, happy and upbeat, etc.  Worrying about all those things  kept me from writing and now some of my fantastic memories have faded enough that I’m not sure how to write about them.  I am going to just write and not let myself think about it too much.

Resolution Number Two

Be a non-smoker.  I started smoking again back in April.  So, I am quitting again.  It’s not a healthy habit.  It doesn’t fill the void I’m using it for.  I’m ready to stop.  This may not be as easy as it was last time.  Still….. Here goes.

Resolution Number Three

Get back on track with why I’m teaching abroad.  Start collecting my thoughts in writing and being more assertive with researching the methodologies of the Chinese teachers.  Put it all into a written format so that I can have these thoughts to reflect on as I study/ teach in new places.

     ¸.•´¸.•*´¨) ¸.•*¨)  EXCITING NEWS     (¨*•.¸(¨*•.¸´•.¸    

After finishing my contract with the Hsinchu Public Schools, at the end of June, I will be heading to Turkey.  

Image

Fingers crossed and all my hopes are for getting a full month, July, back in the states with my children before heading to Turkey.  I have been grateful to see who they are becoming and all the amazing growth they’ve done.  But dang it, I just want to hug them again.

Not everything is pinned down yet, so no solid news.  Just the fact that I’ve decided it’s time for Turkey.

I’ve heard wonderful things about it, and I’m so excited for this next chapter to start.   I want to see the beautiful sights and I can barely contain myself with historical significance.   SO EXCITED.

2014-Numbers-free-Happy-2014-New-Year-Image-Wallpaper

 – I’m ready for a new and wonderful adventure with you.

Related articles

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
For the Love of ELA

The insane life of secondary teaching.

HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

