RSS

I’m starting to see results

30 Apr

My Chinese Coteacher said, “I don’t think they’ll be able to do this. It’s too many directions and they still don’t know the words.” She said this after the first day. I replied, “give them some time with it already. You can’t expect them to do it perfectly the first day and you can’t stop them from trying just because they won’t do it perfectly. They have to learn how to do it on their own.”

It’s now a week later. She insisted I reread the whole thing with each class before putting together this week’s part of their little “flip book”. She was amazed that they were reading it! Not only were they reading the books, but when they had to do partner work and mingling, even the “slow” kids were doing it!

One week of pushing through with my plans instead of listening to all the naysayers, and there’s already progress. All I’m asking them to do is practice daily. All I’m giving them is a reason to and a way to make it fun.

They are taking ownership of these little books because they are writing them. They are personal, not “text” books. AND they’re reading them to their Pets.

I used the pets at my first school with amazing success. I wasn’t sure if it would fly at this school, but it IS. It’s still a novelty, so a few of them play more than read, but very few. The main point is that they’re speaking and reading in English with confidence and with smiles!!!

 

Yeah!!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 30/04/2014 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “I’m starting to see results

  1. Peter Morin

    30/04/2014 at 23:21

    We should have all been so fortunate to have a teacher like you! As an adult I am still working through dispelling those “childhood pronouncements” that were made of me and I believed to be the truth. Turns out they were not the truth.

    Like

     
    • mariflies

      01/05/2014 at 07:27

      Children live up to our expectations. If we have low expectations that’s what we get and vice versa. If I believed everybody that told me I couldn’t, I would be no where right now.

      Believe you can, and you’ll be able to. It’s hard, but worth it!

      Thanks for stopping by, hope to see you again!

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
For the Love of ELA

The insane life of secondary teaching.

HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

