RSS

Taiwan odds and ends for today

11 May
Taiwan odds and ends for today

I’ve spent the last few weeks trying to really absorb more of my surroundings as I am preparing to leave Taiwan.  I have really enjoyed my time here, mosquitoes aside.

It’s been raining a ton.  I’ve been noticing all the flowers starting to bloom.  It’s getting greener and warmer by the day.  Here’s a few photos from my meanderings and of course, some food.

Just like dad

Just like dad

I had to scramble in my purse to get this photo in time!!  They got on the escalator.  The little boy, feet firmly planted straight down being cautious, holding the rail.  Dad assumed the position you see straight away.

The little boy looked at his dad’s feet, looked up at his face, back to dad’s feet, then to his own feet.  Then, ever so carefully, gripping the rail for balance, he put one foot over the other until they were crossed.  He looked at his feet, at dad’s feet, back to his feet to make sure it was right.  He looked up at dad’s face, who was still unaware of what was happening, then pushed his arm forward on the rail, so he could lean a little bit.

He did a full body look then back to dad, broke out in a smile then turned to face front, just like dad.  It was then I decided I needed this picture.  This reminder that everything we do, everything, they look up to.  This was such a sweet reminder of that.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Phenomenally cute faces on the children here.  Taiwanese kids are SO cute.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love helping with homework!  Why on earth they need to learn about American money is beyond me, but hey, I know it, so we can do it!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Since I helped her she decided she could just give it the right grade!  Haha too cute!  I don’t know what her teacher thought of it, but I like it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

She’s buying my funny with American coins!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These two are fun to work with!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Why is it that in a place where there is a “World Soybean Milk Magnate” the only place I can get soymilk in my coffee is at Starbucks?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These three signs were all on the same building for the same restaurant.  I don’t know, but I thought it was interesting!

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Next door was this awesome restaurant.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe owners kept bringing over food for us to try, good food special to their restaurant.  Definitely eat there if you’re in Taipei!!  Yum.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

pork and vegetables

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

chicken and peanut deliciousness

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

seriously the best fried tofu I’ve ever eaten

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

And this delicious dairy-free sweet roll.  I ate 2!!  YUM

Good night folks!  Day 13/30 done and done!

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Taiwan odds and ends for today

  1. Valerie Scott

    12/05/2014 at 16:04

    Loved the pictures. I am having all these wonderful visions of Taiwan in my head. Thanks for the education. The food looks so delicious, if one can define delicious from the image of a picture!!!

    Valerie

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
For the Love of ELA

The insane life of secondary teaching.

HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

