RSS

I’m lucky

02 Jun

I was once told how very unlucky I was.  I thought I was for a while too.

But my mama gave me a question to think about…

Are you?  Look at all you’ve come through and where you are and ask yourself if you aren’t actually really lucky after all.

And
I am really really lucky. I’m not unlucky at all. I’ve not only made it through a few car accidents, a major fall, a horrible marriage and worse divorce, a painful relationship or two, a snow boarding incident, a crazy stalker or two, and countless other things including general clumsiness – I’ve become a better person because of them.
I stopped being able to count how many times I’ve been aware of something that almost happened or happened right behind or in front of me.

I’ve been used as a good luck charm for people during card games. That’s cool.

I’ve had so many wonderful people help me learn from mistakes, learn from the harm done by others, learn how to better handle situations, comfort me, and strengthen me.

I am really lucky.

I am able to really hear when people talk to me about their troubles because I’ve been there. That kind of empathy is hard to come by and I feel lucky I can offer it.

Right now, I am feeling very lucky that a friend and confidant, an empathetic, compassionate, thoughtful, insightful, intelligent, hard-working, goal-oriented, nicely funny ( the kind of humor I like), friendly, out going, globe trotting, like-minded travel junkie from Germany has decided that I’m who he’s been looking for.  Just as I am. 

Over the last 7 months he’s seen me be just me.  In several types of situations, in multiple levels of sober, and with various groups.
We’ve talked, shared stories, shown pictures of our children, laughed, and been serious too.

Then, one evening two weeks ago, he kissed me. And it changed everything, I saw him with new eyes – for the friend he’s been and for the friend my heart has been waiting for.
And now we’re trying out being US.

I couldn’t feel more lucky.

When I wasn’t looking for, or expecting, or for that matter even hoping to find love, it popped up as a tall handsome German.

I’m still moving to Turkey. I’m still teaching and traveling abroad. Who I am is still important. My goals are still important.

My sky is wide open and I’m feeling pretty lucky!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 02/06/2014 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “I’m lucky

  1. Valerie

    02/06/2014 at 13:45

    Mari;

    This is a wonderful happy post. I wish you all the best. You be well and happy. God bless.

    Valerie

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
For the Love of ELA

The insane life of secondary teaching.

HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

