RSS

Tim’s Graduation

10 Jun

Tim graduated University on Saturday. I am grateful I got to go to one graduation this year J

I’m so glad he came into our lives. What a remarkable human being he is.

The Beginning

Cori, David and I went to a special school meeting. It had been called last minute. We sat and heard the story of a few exchange students, which were already headed towards us, whose host families, for whatever reasons, were not able to host them any longer. The company had placed them at our school and hoped that a family from our school would be willing to host these students.

As we went home, the kidittos and I discussed it. We didn’t have much. We aren’t wealthy. One of them would have to share a room. There’s no compensation for this program, so we would have to come up for the resources to house and feed him on our own. Could we do it?

Could we not? No. We could not let someone come and not open our home to them. We would find a way.

We also discussed that whoever was placed with us would not be a “guest” in our home. They would be family, end of story. And just like that, we signed up. We called the company as soon as we got home and offered our home to whoever needed it. We explained our financial situation and that they would not have their own room. It all seemed to work out and we were given Tim’s name.

We made a big sign and when the day arrived, we went to the airport and picked up our new family member, from Taiwan.

We didn’t know what we were signing up for but we were willing to give it our best shot. And we did.

That school year was a great time, though we unknowingly starved him. Those of you familiar with the amazing amounts of food the Taiwanese eat will understand. We didn’t give him less, in fact we gave him more than we ever ate, but it is just so vastly different.

I have so many wonderful memories of showing him parts of America. I am so glad we made that choice.

 

He’s why I came to Taiwan

And when I put out to the world that I was beginning my journeys abroad, he asked me to come here first. His family has become my family. They are the most wonderful people. I can’t imagine what I would have done if they had not been so wonderful.

And now, he’s done with his schooling

Soon he will have to do his time in the military here, but I am grateful I was able to witness this moment of his education, having been part of his education in America.

So……. On to the photo fest!!!


































 









 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 10/06/2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
For the Love of ELA

The insane life of secondary teaching.

HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

