RSS

Adana, so far so good

17 Aug
Adana, so far so good

I’ve been here for 6 days now. Luckily I have not experienced too much jet lag thanks to sleeping most of the flight time to get here and a full 9 hours after arriving. I seriously slept 20 out of 25 hours; not sure how I managed it, but I did. Me, the non-sleeper. I am back to my well too known insomnia now, but no jet lag, so…..

Wendi arrived safe and sound and with taking her shopping for all the apartment basics, I have managed to go shopping 5 times in 6 days. Also a probable record since I generally hate shopping.

I work for a fantastic company! I can’t believe how well-treated we all are by them. It is wonderful to feel appreciated as a teacher and a new comer. Thank you Nacel!!

My apartment is really cute.


I think I’m going to change the color scheme in the bedroom, but since it was all here when I arrived, it’s good enough for now!!

I need a desk and some shelving too, but all in good time.

When I arrived I found a little care package from the school!!


Along with water, tea, coffee, juice, bread, and all kinds of goodies in the fridge. Amazeballs.

I’m on the 6th floor, so here’s some of my view.


The school English Department Head Teacher brought us to her place and fed us homemade wonderful traditional Turkish food, then let us play at her apartment’s pool.


I finally found soy milk here, but before I did, I was SO excited to find a Starbucks and get to have my Grande Soy Hazelnut Latte. I think I might start taking photos of me and Starbucks everywhere I go! Thank you for consistency Starbucks. Sincerely.


A Burger King ice cream only kiosk in the middle of the mall……. Ok Turkey, sure, why not.


This is some kind of “meat” made with bulgur. Apparently this little spicy meat wrapped in lettuce used to be made with raw meat. I’m grateful it is not anymore, but it was tasty as is.


Yes, I did a little happy dance right there in the store. Transformers individual packages of honey, with Bumblebee as the front man. I was smiling like a 2 year old with new light up shoes.


Statue in front of the local hospital.


Last night we went out for traditional Adana Kebap’s. Ummmmm freaking delicious. They made a great effort to decide which things I could and couldn’t eat, awesome. Great night now that all the teachers are here and we all went out together. Thanks again to Nacel and Final for making this first week the best first week of any teaching job so far!!

Food is served family style here as well, so yippeeeee!! Let’s dig in!


I didn’t get to eat the pasta, but it seemed to be quite good.


The traditional Adana Kebap. So, fun fact, Kebap’s or Kebab’s as we know them in the States, were first made here in Adana.


And, Ayran, a thinned out yogurt with added salt to make it a salty, foamy, not even slightly phallic in presentation, popular drink in all of Turkey.


After we’d eaten enough food for a football team, the manager (whose son attends our school) brought this down telling us it was more meat dishes especially chosen by his son for us.


Turned out it was a very (I’ll take their word for it) yummy sweet desert of wheat, ice cream, pistachios, and honey.


They brought me three slices of sweet spiced pickled pumpkin that tasted like eating pumpkin pie! Yum.


I’m off for my first day at school!!! And in just a few hours, all three of my children will be starting their first days of college! It’s a school day all around for Team McKahsum!!

 

Leave a Reply

 
For the Love of ELA

The insane life of secondary teaching.

HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

