RSS

I have no answers

01 Oct

I really don’t know what happened. I don’t have any answers to the many questions I’m thinking. It doesn’t make any sense.

 

I was happily doing my own thing and somehow I got turned upside down by someone I understood, I cared about. Once we became more than friends, it was like all the madness of my life prior just disappeared. None of it mattered. I was me and he loved me exactly as I was. I was now happily in love, engaged, ready to take on everything because I felt so loved. He reassured me. He made arguments to the many ways he so obviously loved me more than I him. He took wonderful care of me.

 

We both knew his job and my job was going to keep us from seeing each other more than every other month or so. We made numerous plans for when I would go to Germany, he would come to Turkey, and we would meet somewhere else. I reassured him that with my understanding, having been married to a serviceman before, our being apart was not going to push us apart. I fully understood what it takes, I’ve done it before. His family background in teaching and my background in lasers made conversations about work easy and comfortable.

 

When we weren’t together we messaged and called every day. I was continuously wooed with “I love you, I miss you, I think about you always”. Every day. I felt so cared about and adored.

The internet was sketchy at his new work location but we still messaged every day. I still got words of love every day. Never a hint of anything else. Six days before the final day, I received another “I love you, I miss talking to you, don’t be sad I always think about you” message. He was to fly back to Germany two days later.

 

Then nothing, no contact. I spent the weekend in Istanbul spouting my concern not for “us” but for him. I knew he loved me and felt secure in that. I wasn’t even remotely worried that anything was wrong with us. I was worried something had happened at his work and he was stuck there. I was worried that something had happened on the way to the plane. I was worried something had happened to his phone.

I contacted his dad and his friend to make sure he was ok. It had been a week since I had heard from him and I needed to know he was ok.

 

Then he called.

And in a brief 5 minutes he told me we were over. With nothing more than “It’s not you, I need my own time, I don’t love you and there’s no chance to get back”, we were done.

I’m left here with an engagement ring, a plane ticket to Germany on my birthday, a lot of pictures and memories that had futures packed in them, a lot of unanswered questions, and a lot of pain.

 

I will keep saying I don’t love him until it’s finally true. I will keep my head up because I am worth more than this ending. I will not break because I am still me and I still love me. I will not hide from love in the future. I will not hide in a dark cave of misery though I have considered actually drowning myself in chocolate; just for the humor of it. A vat of chocolate syrup, just stick my head in until I have to breathe, then inhale chocolate sauce to my end. It sounds darkly funny to me right now. Ok, I’m not even close to suicidal so don’t get crazy mama. It’s just a funny thought right now.

But damn it I can’t stop crying and it’s starting to piss me off that my eyes hurt so much. It’s bad enough I hurt enough TO cry, do I really need to hurt Because I cry??? Will chocolate syrup stop my eyes from hurting??

 

I don’t know folks. I have no answer except that I will move on from this too.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 01/10/2014 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “I have no answers

  1. Valerie

    01/10/2014 at 22:37

    Mari;

    All I can say is that I am sorry that this happened to you. I feel for you. Having been through many love affairs that I thought were going to end in something more lasting, I know that feeling of rejection. My one hope for this world is that all of us take the time to understand that our actions can hurt other people very deeply.
    Know that you had nothing to do with this. It’s not your fault. It’s his loss. Keep your head up high. You are not the first to go through this kind of pain. Having said that, I want you to focus on yourself and get into some great projects, and activities in Turkey. They will keep your rmind off of the present situation. Know that other people love you and wish you the best. You will be in my prayers.
    Be well, and yes, happy. You can create your own happiness, though it will take time. God bless.
    Valerie

    Like

     
    • mariflies

      02/10/2014 at 06:32

      Valerie, I’m not sure all that I do feel but, rejected is not it. I feel lied to. I feel led on and played a fool. But I do not feel rejected. I think he pushed away his own happiness because of fear. I think he’s afraid of letting me down. But mostly I think he’s afraid of the unknowns. I don’t think fear is a good reason to let someone go and it’s a pretty wimpy way to react, but I am trying to understand it.
      Alone or with someone, I am still happy with who I am and I’m not sure he was happy with himself. That’s where I’m at right now……. Doesn’t make it hurt less, but ……

      Like

       
  2. Valerie

    03/10/2014 at 10:42

    May God be with you, and turn seemingly, grey skies into a deep blue, beautiful wonder for your comfort, and enjoyment. Keep the faith.

    Valerie

    Like

     
  3. Jean

    07/10/2014 at 17:36

    Sometimes we believe we are so strong nothing can deter us, but then shit happens and our world falls apart. We use this to really then understand how strong we really are because we get through it and proceed on with life and the many happiness”s we will once again feel. You will get there mi hija… I know it and feel it. Te quiero mucho. Mom

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
For the Love of ELA

The insane life of secondary teaching.

HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

