RSS

Here’s to a month

06 Feb

Yes, I am still on Ilha de Mozambique and enjoying it immensely.
The country is still flooded, there’s still no electricity other than random generators, prices on everything are going up because there’s no transportation abilities with some main bridges in the country washed away, cell phones are the only way to get internet and there’s only service once in a while, but I’m healthy and taking it all in.
I’ve gotten pretty good at washing clothes by hand with only a little water, drawing water from the well and boiling the heck out of it. Thank everything I’ve been an avid camper most of my life, it’s kind of like long term camping really.
I hear we might get power restored by next week but everyone tells me not to hold my breath for that….
In the meantime I’ve been taking in some of the most beautiful sunsets and sunrises I’ve ever seen. I’ve sat under completely dark skies and seen a sky full of stars. I’ve been swimming in the ocean, treasure hunting, and learning about the dark but fascinating history of this island.
Here are a few photos 🙂

image

image

image

image

I am also truly seeing the effects that come from generations being withheld an education for the purpose of keeping laborers servants.
It sets my mind to purpose.

I’m getting my feet here, meeting people, and learning quite a bit about living with only a little.

I’m safe, healthy, and happy, just wishing for the power to get restored sooner rather than later.

Live life to the fullest.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 06/02/2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Here’s to a month

  1. Valerie

    06/02/2015 at 22:58

    Good hearing from you Mari. Been thinking about you especially since we hadn’t heard from you in awhile. I had no idea that there was all this flooding going on. You’re doing the right thing, just taking it in stride. I hope that eveything will get back to normal soon. The pictures are beautiful. I go crazy over sunsets too!
    Valerie

    Like

     
  2. tisom92

    09/02/2015 at 12:37

    It’s good to see that Ilha is still functioning despite the flooding

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
For the Love of ELA

The insane life of secondary teaching.

HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all just...fine.

TIROBON

true stories from Iten

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

