RSS

2 days in a row with electricity!!!

14 Feb
2 days in a row with electricity!!!

It is really humbling and amazing when things you have taken for granted most of your life become luxuries to be celebrated.

I got to take a real shower.  I got to turn on the tap and brush my teeth!  Conserving bottled water and only brushing my teeth once a day, SO glad to not be doing that for two days now.

Running the AC at night and not sweating through sleep-difficult nights is such a rich luxury I want to kiss the AC machine.

Life is good.

It’s an interesting phenomena that even with everything seemingly going wrong, it feels right to be here.

In Turkey, I had money, I was saving money, I could go see a movie or to a mall.  I had an oven, beauty products, my choice of hygiene products, but I was miserable.

Here, well, I have none of that.  In fact, I have the most of nothing I’ve ever had, but, it feels right here.  I can do good work here.

The construction company that has me doing their accounting asked me to teach a few of their workers English.  We’ve only had 4 lessons but I am being stopped by people on the street every day now, to ask about English classes for themselves or their children.  There is a desire to learn.

As far as I have heard so far, there has never been an English school here.  And with the tourism industry about to boom here, what with all the hotels and museums currently in construction, there is not only a strong need, but a strong desire to learn.

I’m trying to find ways to make a living here while doing my research into the needs.  It’s a struggle, like I said, everything is seemingly going wrong.  I wasn’t able to exchange my Turkish money, so I have none.  My visa extension was denied and it’s setting up a daily fine that I can’t pay, plus the cost of the new visa once I get the fines paid.  I have to figure out how to pay that while not making any money.  My work at the construction company is paying room and board, so I have a roof over my head and food to eat, (with electricity I also have running water again !).

Luckily for me, being dirt poor is not new, I can do this too.  Especially when I get to see some of the most beautiful scenery of my life.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

the office

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My room

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

More of the wonderful things I get to see each day

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I got desperate for something sweet and wanted to make some cookies with my last egg….   I tried, that’s good.  Right? OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s funny, I asked my mama to send me some goodies while I was still in Turkey.  Now those things seem so trivial, salsa, dried green chile, comfort foods.   I still want paint, mosquito repellent, crayons….

I haven’t worn a stitch of makeup since I left Turkey. My needs to get by have been drastically altered, for the better I think.  I look around me and see such poverty, yet such joy in life.  People of all ages sing as they go down the street.  It is not unusual to see people dancing wherever they are.

But it is also not unusual to see people just sitting.  There is very little work here.  The schools on Ilha are the best in this part of the country and many children are bussed in to attend.  But the local children can’t afford it.  They walk around the island all day, rolling tires with sticks, drawing in the sand, but just meandering around until night time.

I know I can do good here.

AND  if anyone wants to come visit, I am at a beautiful beach house!  Come see this amazing island.

As I continue my research, I hope to begin posting more about the history of Ilha de Mozambique….  a place I am beginning to love.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 14/02/2015 in Expat, health and healing

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “2 days in a row with electricity!!!

  1. tisom92

    14/02/2015 at 09:29

    It’s good to see Ilha got power back. If you’re looking for somewhere to start with the history you should check out the tour of the fort

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Ms McKahsum

      04/06/2015 at 17:46

      Thank you for checking out my blog 🙂 It’s been fun to check in on yours as well. Keep up the great teaching!!

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
For the Love of ELA

The insane life of secondary teaching.

HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

