RSS

Each time I rise

10 Apr

The last 12 months of my life have been a true example of how the yin and yang of life works.

Once upon a time, the rotations of this wheel took a long time. Now as I continue to grow, it turns more quickly.  The changes are more immediate.  The ability to see paths of growth more illuminated.

From getting a good job in Turkey, a country I had longed to see for years, and discovering the beauty of the land and people – to the overwhelming need to remove myself.

From being happy on my own- to a dream like relationship – to the nightmare of its sudden end.

From the relocation to this beautiful country and island on the promise of a job – to the realization that the job didn’t exist, the money didn’t exist, realizing I was being held “nicely” as a hostage, getting typhoid, visa issues, – to building a rapport with the people, starting to teach again, loving my students, having people smile and try to talk to me everywhere I go – to the nightmare of this week.

This last 12 months has given me highs and lows.
I have seen beauty and ugliness in all the places and people.  I am surrounded, everywhere, by amazing people I am grateful to call friends.
We are all here to help each other.

I believe when I go home, I will be able to curl up for a little while; enter the ash stage, I am burning now.

But I will be reborn again. Each time I rise, I am stronger, brighter, and more complete within myself.
I don’t know the next step yet for sure, but I will be a force, a powerful force for change.

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Each time I rise

  1. Jennifer el alami

    10/04/2015 at 19:50

    You are an a incredibly strong woman who has done things far beyond her dreams please don’t let this bump on your path stop you from completeing your vision in becoming the person that you have dream of. You have many more Miles to,tread, many more children to effect and many motor memories to make (I hope more than good than bad). May there always be a penny at your feet, the sunshine in your face,and wind at your back. You have many people, who love you and are cheering for you daily. DON’T STOP NO MATTER HOW BIG THE CLIMB,
    Much love,to an AMAZING WOMNAN
    Love you just like you were my real sister,
    Jennifer

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Ms McKahsum

      10/04/2015 at 19:58

      Love you too Jenn! Thank you, and you know I can’t stop. It’s not how I work. Just taking a quick breather once all this here is done, for the time being.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
For the Love of ELA

The insane life of secondary teaching.

HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

