RSS

Hairgasm

02 Jun

So I went to the salon to get my hair cut today.  It happens similarly most times I go to a real salon.  They just do not know how to handle long, blonde, “virgin” hair.  How they react somehow surprises me every time I go in.  But then, I don’t go in regularly so maybe that’s why.  And my hair is finally waist length again….Here in the states, that’s irregular.

It takes twice as long as it should to finish my hair cut, because they spend soooooo much time as they’re washing, conditioning, and brushing my hair. This time I only got three conditioners.  I’ve gotten up to 5 before.

My hairdresser calls all the other hair dressers over to look at/ feel my hair through the whole process.  They ooo and aww over it’s natural state.  Every stylist has to take a turn at running their hands through my hair and telling me how rare my hair color is. Then they hem and haw over which dye colors they have that would be similar.   (Is it really SO uncommon to not have colored, permed, straightened, or whatever else people have done to their hair, hair?)

But I’m not really complaining.

I have to tell the front 2 stylists it took me 4 years to grow out again, and then they start telling the ones in the back and saying how they wish they could grow theirs out.  Today my hairdresser called out her friend with, “Well if you wouldn’t go home and cut your hair at night, you probably could!”  It gets pretty funny sometimes at the salon.

I will honestly admit I like the extra washing, conditioning, and brushing.  It feels nice. (It’s even in my 41 things to do before you’re 41 list). I also like how they try so hard to do something really great with the basic style that comes with the basic hair cut price. (Because I’m just not going to pay extra for my hairstyle just because they like my hair).

I usually walk out with my hair looking pretty damn good.  I’ve had two shops in my life take a pic of my hairstyle for their books.

They get a little frustrated when I don’t buy a ton of products from them.  You know, the ones that will keep my hair in that doo for the next 6 weeks without moving, or the ones that make my hair shine but not shiny.  Sorry but, I keep my hair as product free as possible.  Yes, coconut oil, egg yolks, never blow dry, loose hairties, etc.   That’s why I got the ooos and aww’s you and your fellow employees just spent the last 2 hours doing.  Not from a $45 can of thickening mousse and $32 bottle of shampoo with clay in it.

But I like my hairstyle tonight.  I will wholeheartedly admit that.  Am I willing to take the 30 min and damage of a daily curling to maintain this masterpiece.  Nope.  Do I wish it wasn’t Tuesday and I could go show this off somewhere?  You better believe it.

Sadly it is Tuesday.  So, I will go back to my mirror and have a little hairgasm.

Night night folks

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 02/06/2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
For the Love of ELA

The insane life of secondary teaching.

HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

