RSS

Where is home for the Holidays?

25 Dec
Where is home for the Holidays?

Life as an expat means that often you are in new places for the Holiday Season.

I’ve spent the last 4 Christmases abroad; Taiwan, Turkey, and now again, I am overseas for this Home for the Holiday time.  Though I miss the people and love to remember the great Christmas’s of years past, I relish being able to see how other cultures and peoples celebrate the many different celebrations that happen at the end of each year.

It is comforting to my “What the hell has happened to humanity?!”, to walk down the street and see a Christmas tree up in the middle of the roundabout, facing a mosque, and watching people take pictures of themselves and their loved ones with both.  Often at the same time.

Maybe because I arrived as the Holidays began to be in full swing, but I like to think that the people here are just naturally friendly, I have seen nothing but the helpful, friendly, contagious laughter-ly side of people since my first day.

Home is where the heart is.

So home for the holidays is a mere matter of remembering the people in my heart.  I have been able to reach out, using the wonderful technology of our age, to people around the world to wish them everything wonderful, talk about past antics, and hear about what is happening with them.  What a great tool the internet can be!  I have been able to send messages and to Skype with loved ones to wish them a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

It makes being Home for the Holidays that much easier to see the face and hear the voice of a dear friend or family member.  But even without that, home is a quiet place in my heart where I can see those I love and greet and honor them for a while.  It’s the quiet meditation where even those who have passed can be felt for a little while.

This year I am using my Shaman path to create a spiritual home for all of my loved ones, friends, and mentors to be with me for a Christmas moment.

If during your day, you think of me, it is probably because I have hugged you in my “home”.

Peace is something we create.  It is the most precious gift to others.  I am working diligently on creating peace everywhere I am.  Within my peace, my joy is abundant.  My cup runneth over.

Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah, Happy Kwanzaa, Feliz Las Posadas, Beautiful Greetings for Eid-Al-Adha, Happy Diwali, Happy Yule, and if I missed some, Merry, Happy, Beautiful days ahead to you!

May 2016 bring us all closer to the love in our souls and bring us together  in understanding, compassion, and Peace!

happy-holidays-colorful-background-snowflakes-graphic

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 25/12/2015 in living

 

Comments are closed.

 
For the Love of ELA

The insane life of secondary teaching.

HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

