RSS

Bringer of Wisdom

02 Mar

Bringer of Wisdom from the First 50 Words blog

Many people have said that I am a wise soul.  Maybe I was born with it, maybe it’s ……  well it certainly isn’t Maybelline.  It’s more like Maybe this will work out?

I think the Bringer of Wisdom is basically learning from the trial and error process of being human. 

I was once given a Facebook test about “How many of these things have you done?” a couple years back by a friend.  He commented on my score with surprise that I had received a higher score than he had. 

I’m “wise” because I’ve managed to pull off a fair amount of trials and errors, along with some pretty awesome stuff too.  Much of what I’ve done, I’ve done through travelling. 

As a kid and as an adult, I moved all over the US before beginning to live abroad.  I’ve seen most of the US monuments, parks, and interesting places.  You learn things while travelling.  You see things you never thought you would see.  Like a road trip through Nebraska where the state tried to suck me into its sky.  Never thought I’d see that.  But I did. 

Once you start seeing the big world, you are able to do and see some interesting stuff.   Like, they stuff all the French fries into the wraps in Albania.  They eat boiled, mashed cashews and seaweed in Mozambique.  They eat skewered chicken hearts in Taiwan.  There’s a building here named Taiwan…….  (More than a few weird looks when I tell people here, I’ve lived in Taiwan, hahahaha)  Montana-ites like their cowboy boots and bars.  Just about every corner in New Jersey has either a beauty salon, a barber, or an Italian restaurant, or all three.  New Mexico has the best chile, hands down.  Western Washington is the greenest place in the states.  The sheer magnitude of people in one place in Cambodia is shocking.  The saddest, cruelest abuses are heaped upon the weakest and poorest of us, all over the world.  We are an unkind species almost everywhere.  We are also so very kind, and sharing, and giving. 

I have seen people literally give the shirt off their back to help a stranger.  I have seen people savagely abuse the people who love them.

The Bringer of Wisdom is the learning part of making it through all the experiences.  All of them. The beautiful and not so beautiful and the experiences that have both types of moments.

Would I say I’m a wise soul?  Yes and no.  I still have a lot of learning to do.  Hopefully, most of my future learning will be from positive experiences.  I think I’ve done enough learning from the trials and errors that I can skip past the rest of those.   Well, at least try to. 

Yes, I think the Bringer of Wisdom comes along and bestows their power upon us as we learn from both our mistakes and our triumphs. 

I don’t know, but Maybe this Phoenix really is a wise old soul.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 02/03/2016 in living

 

Leave a Reply

 
For the Love of ELA

The insane life of secondary teaching.

HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

