RSS

I’m reading it again. And it will change my life again.

01 Jul

Preface to Les Miserables

So long as there shall exist, by virtue of law and custom, decrees of damnation pronounced by society, artificially creating hells amid the civilization of earth, and adding the element of human fate to divine destiny; so long as the three great problems of the century – the degradation of man through pauperism, the corruption of woman through hunger, the crippling of children through lack of light – are unresolved; so long as social asphyxia is possible in any part of the world; – in other words, and with a still wider significance, so long as ignorance and poverty exist on earth, books of the nature of Les Miserables cannot fail to be of use.      Victor Hugo

These words have given me goosebumps each time I read them.  This book has changed my life each time I’ve read it and shared it.  This book is what I judge all literature by.  This book and it’s humanity, it’s truth, and it’s message of seeking out goodness, being your best no matter your circumstances, it makes me a better person.

I’d love to share it with you as I read it this summer.  If you want to follow along, I have mine on my KINDLE app on my PC ( the 826 pg version).  I believe it is free on Kindle.

The First Volumes are a compilation of character books, Volume 1 being about Fantine, but also the beginning stories of the characters that influence the main characters of the story as you go into the meat of the story.

The beginning can be difficult and tedious, trust me I know.  As much as I love this book, I have to push myself through the first 200 pages or so.  BUT just like learning our multiplication tables is repetitive and monotonous and we think WHY?!?  It is important information that we need to get through the rest of our mathematical learning, and these character descriptions help us to understand the complex responses to life’s curve balls later in the story.

I will be reading Volume I Fantine to begin.  As I read, I will post my thoughts etc.  Ways I’ve taught it, and things I’ve learned from it.   Feel free to also comment on your thoughts as well!!  Consider this an online Book club meeting for an over the summer reading of Les Miserables.

 

I’m excited 🙂

Notes:  in case your version does the — thing mine does,  D– (as in Bishop of D–) is Digne

 

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
For the Love of ELA

The insane life of secondary teaching.

HaPiTirana

Tasting Tirana

two apples a day

will keep your students happy

Lee Martin

My life in words

Roads & Kingdoms

Journalism and travel, together at last

Everything is fine here.

It's fine. It's all just...fine.

Buzzing Blue Room

Miss vd M 's Learning Journey

atermis0249

travel, love, and living life!

Sourav Adhikari

Live Positive Read Positive

New England Nomad

All Things New England

@ShashaSelflove

Staying Positive

seagirll

Travel

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Electric Holy Road

A Journey into the Weird and Wunderbar

globetrottingteen

If travel is an addiction, I'm afflicted.

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

